A worrying article

Published 18/09/2012 by julierkendrick

I just came across this article from the Huffington Post.

I know that over the years my children have read less despite encouragement from me and their dad. I do think that TV, and video games etc are partly to blame but I also think that society places less importance on reading as a whole.

Have a read and tell me what you think.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/09/07/children-reading-rates-down_n_1863582.html?utm_hp_ref=uk-books#

2 comments on “A worrying article

  • It certainly does! We are losing respect for writers and the written word. And we will be the poorer. Here in GB one big ,local bookstore no longer welcomes local writers in to sell and sign their books. I shall be blogging about this at the w/e.Keep the faith!

    • That is such a shame, with the advent of the Kindle it is even harder for authors to promote their books and face to face is such a great way to get yourself out there. I am disappointed with your bookshop. They should be encouraging writers not ignoring them.

  • Tell me what you think

